You are here: Home / About the Foundation / Organization / Headquarters


Chairman Dr. Fredrick F. Chien

Dr. Fredrick F. Chien was born in Hangchow, Chekiang in 1935. He graduated from National Taiwan University in 1956 with a B.S. in Political Science, and earned his doctorate at Yale University in 1962. Dr. Chien later received an Honorary LL.D. at Sung Kyun Kwan University in South Korea, and also earned Honorary LL.D. degrees at several American universities. His distinguished career has included service as Visiting Professor at National Taiwan University, Director General of the Government Information Office, Representative of the CCNAA Office in the United States, Chairman of the Council for Economic Planning and Development, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Speaker of the National Assembly, and President of the Control Yuan. He is currently Chairman of the Cathay Charity Foundation and Chairman of the Pacific Cultural Foundation. He has been a Foundation Board Member since the First Board of Directors was formed in 1989, and became Chairman of the Foundation in June 2019.

President Yun-han Chu

Professor Yun-han Chu became President of the Foundation in June 2001, after having served as vice-president of the Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation since April 1999. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota in 1987, and in his distinguished research and teaching career since then has focused on the political economy of East Asian newly-industrialized countries (NIC's), democratization, and comparative mass political behavior. Before taking his post at the Foundation, Prof. Chu served for eleven years as Director of Programs at the Institute for National Policy Research in Taipei, and from 1994 until 1997 was Coordinator of the Political Science section of the National Science Council. He currently holds a joint appointment as Distinguished Research Fellow at the Institute of Political Science, Academia Sinica, and Professor of Political Science at National Taiwan University. His most recent academic honor was being elected to the 2012 list of Academicians during Academia Sinica’s biannual Convocation of Academicians, held on July 2-5, 2012.

Professor Chu is a three-time recipient of the National Science Council's Outstanding Research Award, the highest honor the Council bestows on individual professors. Publications to Prof. Chu's credit include more than one hundred journal articles and edited volume chapters, as well as twelve books and edited volumes, most recently Crafting Democracy in Taiwan (Taipei: Institute for National Policy Research, 1992) and the edited volumes Consolidating the Third Wave Democracies: Trends and Challenges (Johns Hopkins University Press, 1997), China Under Jiang Zemin (Boulder: Lynne Reinner Publishers, 2000), and How East Asians View Democracy (Columbia University Press, 2008). Prof. Chu is also a current editorial board member for several major research journals, including Journal of Democracy, International Studies Quarterly, Pacific Affairs, Journal of East Asian Studies, Journal of Contemporary China, and China Perspective. He was the President of the Chinese Association of Political Science (2003-2005) and a member of the Council of American Political Science Association (2009-2011). In October 2014, he received the University of Minnesota's Outstanding Achievement Award, which is the highest honor bestowed upon its graduates.

Vice-President Chun-i Chen

On September 1, 2013, Professor Chun-i Chen assumed the position of Foundation Vice-President. He was born in 1964, and earned his B.A. at Tung-hai University and his S.J.D. from Tulane University. He is currently Professor of Law and Diplomacy at National Chengchi University (Taiwan), and former President of the Chinese (Taiwan) Society of International Law, Co-Chair of the Law in the Pacific Rim Region Interest Group of the American Society of International Law and the Associate Editor and Executive Editor of the Chinese (Taiwan) Yearbook of International Law and Affairs.

Vice-President Chen is a world-recognized expert in international law. He has also authored and edited a number of important scholarly volumes, including The Status of Customary International Law, Treaties, Agreements and Semi-official or Unofficial Agreements in Law of the Republic of China on Taiwan (co-authored with Professor Hung-Dah Chiu), as well as numerous scholarly articles in both Chinese and English. He also prepared a revised and expanded edition of Professor Hung-Dah Chiu’s magnum opus, entitled Modern International Law.


Vice-President Siao-chen Hu

Born in 1964, Siao-chen Hu holds a B.A. in Foreign Languages and Literature from National Taiwan University, an M.A. in Literature from the University of California, San Diego, and a Ph.D. from the Department of East Asian Languages and Civilizations at Harvard University. She is currently a Distinguished Research Fellow at the Institute of Chinese Literature and Philosophy, Academia Sinica, and has previously served as its director. She was appointed as Vice-President of the Foundation in April 2021.

Program Director Paul R. Katz

Paul R. Katz, Distinguished Research Fellow at the Institute of Modern History, Academia Sinica, obtained his doctorate from the Department of East Asian Studies, Princeton University. A specialist in the history of Chinese religion and society, his most recent books include: When Valleys Turned Blood Red: The Ta-pa-ni Incident in Colonial Taiwan; Divine Justice -- Religion and the Development of Chinese Legal Culture; and Religion in China and its Modern Fate.